Feb. 26, 2020

HARRISBURG — Rep. Justin Simmons (R-Lehigh/Montgomery/Northampton) today announced the School Safety and Security Committee has awarded $200,000 in School Safety and Security Grants to school districts in the 131st Legislative District, including East Penn, Salisbury, Saucon Valley, Southern Lehigh and Upper Perkiomen.

The 17-member committee within the Pennsylvania Commission on Crime and Delinquency was created as part of Act 44 of 2018, a comprehensive school safety law passed in 2018. One of its duties is to help distribute both meritorious and competitive grants.

“I am thrilled to announce these well-deserved grants,” Simmons said. “This funding will make possible the necessary acquisition of security equipment and improvements to safety training that will make the schools of tomorrow safer environments for our children to learn and grow.”

Those receiving grants locally are:

• East Penn School District – $45,000.
• Salisbury School District – $35,000.
• Saucon Valley School District – $40,000.
• Southern Lehigh School District – $40,000.
• Upper Perkiomen School District – $40,000.

The 131st Legislative District in includes the townships of Lower Milford, Upper Milford, Lower, Upper Saucon, Upper Hanover and the boroughs of Coopersburg, East Greenville, Emmaus, Pennsburg and Red Hill.

Representative Justin Simmons
131st Legislative District
Pennsylvania House of Representatives

Media Contact: Michael Plummer
RepSimmons.com / Facebook.com/RepSimmons